• Bayesfickle
  • Jewell, Ohio
  • Hicksville, Ohio
  • Defiance, Ohio


Defiance County has a long history of change and growth. It is currently composed of twelve townships, Adams, Defiance, Delaware, Farmer, Hicksville, Highland, Mark, Milford, Noble, Richland, Tiffin and Washington covering 412 square miles. Defiance County includes three incorporated villages, Hicksville, Ney and Sherwood, and the City of Defiance. There are also a number of unincorporated areas.

Defiance County has always been a major transportation area. It boasts over 1,000 miles of quality paved county, city, village, township and state roads.

Today, Defiance County offers a variety of cultural opportunities from its large, enclosed shopping and strip malls to the many quaint family-owned specialty shops. People come from all over the United States and Canada to enjoy the pleasant rural rolling farm land setting. From the rivers and waterways to the many church and community festivals, Defiance County offers a great family environment for residents and visitors alike.

A Purple Heart Communitypurple heart

On Saturday, June 9, 2012, Defiance County, Ohio honored veterans with a parade and also with the Board of Defiance County Commissioners proclaiming Defiance County a “Purple Heart Community”, the second county in Ohio with Purple Heart designation.  Read More »



Defiance County prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, and where applicable, sex, marital status, familial status, parental status, religion, sexual orientation or political beliefs. Defiance County is also an equal opportunity employer.

Site Developed by Theano Point.